When was Indian Independence Act passed explain any one provision of this act?

Royal assent 18 July 1947
Status: Amended
Text of statute as originally enacted
Revised text of statute as amended

What is independence of India Act write its main provisions?

The Indian Independence Act was passed in 1947. The act created two new independent dominions; India and Pakistan. Pakistan was split into Pakistan and East Pakistan which is now Bangladesh. The Bengal and Punjab provinces were partitioned between the two new countries.

When was the Indian Independence Act passed?

Indian Independence Act, 1947.

What were the provisions of the India Independence Act of 1947?

Important Provisions Under this Act

Partition of the British India into two new and fully sovereign dominions-India and Pakistan with effect from August 15, 1947; Division of the provinces of Bengal & Punjab among the two newly formed countries; The offices of Governor-General in both the countries would be set up.

What was the main provision of the Mountbatten Plan?

Provisions of the Mountbatten Plan

British India was to be partitioned into two dominions – India and Pakistan. The constitution framed by the Constituent Assembly would not be applicable to the Muslim-majority areas (as these would become Pakistan).

Who is divided India and Pakistan?

The partition was outlined in the Indian Independence Act 1947 and resulted in the dissolution of the British Raj, i.e. Crown rule in India. The two self-governing independent Dominions of India and Pakistan legally came into existence at midnight on 15 August 1947.

IT\'S FUN:  Why was the Indian Ocean a prime place for trading?

Is India still under Queen?

The monarchy was abolished on 26 January 1950, when India adopted a new constitution and became a republic within the Commonwealth, the first Commonwealth country to do so.

Who is the constitutional chief of India?

The Prime Minister of India, as addressed in the Constitution of India, is the chief of the government, chief adviser to the president, head of the council of ministers and the leader of the majority party in the parliament. The prime minister leads the executive of the Government of India.

About India