Quick Answer: How many region does India have?

How many regions are in India?


Name Population (2011 census) Union territories
North India 376,809,728 3
Northeast India 45,587,982
South India 253,051,953 3
Western India 173,343,821 2

What are the 4 regions of India?

The Indian mainland has been broadly divided into four geographical areas: the Northern Mountains or the Himalayan region; the great Northern Plains; the Deccan Peninsula; the coastal plains and Islands.

What is the region of India?

India, country that occupies the greater part of South Asia.

How many regions are in our country?

A common way of referring to regions in the United States is grouping them into 5 regions according to their geographic position on the continent: the Northeast, Southwest, West, Southeast, and Midwest.

What is the main part of India?

When choosing where to visit, it’s easiest to divide the country into distinct regions: North, West, South, East & Northeast, and Central India.

Which region is closest to India?

South Asia, subregion of Asia, consisting of the Indo-Gangetic Plain and peninsular India. It includes the countries of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Pakistan, Nepal, and Sri Lanka; Afghanistan and the Maldives are often considered part of South Asia as well.

IT\'S FUN:  Quick Answer: What is the role of science and technology in nation building in India?

Which region in India is the best?

As part of its Traveller Review Awards 2021, digital travel company Booking.com revealed the top five most welcoming regions in India, and the state of Kerala topped this list, followed by Rajasthan, Goa, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.

What is India’s full name?

India, officially the Republic of India (Hindi: Bhārat Gaṇarājya), is a country in South Asia.


Republic of India Bhārat Gaṇarājya (see other local names)
Demonym(s) Indian

Who named country India?

The official name of the Republic of India was derived from the Sanskrit name ‘Sindhu’ that referred to Indus River. By the time the Persians conquered both, the then Indian subcontinent and Greece in 5th century BCE, ‘Sindhu’ became ‘Hindus’ to mark the ‘land of Hindus’.

What are the 7 regions of the world?

Ordered from largest in area to smallest, these seven regions are: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia.

What are 3 types of regions?

Geographers have identified three types of regions: formal, functional, and vernacular.

What are the 9 regions of the world?

Terms in this set (12)

  • NA. North America.
  • E. Europe.
  • LA. Latin America.
  • EA. East Asia.
  • SwA. Southwest Asia(w/ North Africa)
  • SeA. Southeast Asia.
  • CA. Central Asia.
  • SA. South Asia.
About India