What is a subcontinent give two distinct features of the Indian subcontinent?

1. Indian subcontinent are those which lie between tropic of cancer and tropic of Capricorn. 2. In these continents there is to much hot because these continent are near to equater.

What is a subcontinent What are the two features of Indian subcontinent?

Abstract. The Indian subcontinent has three physiographic components: the Himalayas in the north, the Indo-Gangetic Alluvial Plain in the middle and the Peninsula of Precambrian rocks with younger cover in the south.

What is a subcontinent answer?

: a large landmass smaller than a continent especially : a major subdivision of a continent the Indian subcontinent.

What is called a subcontinent?

A large and distinct section of a continent can be called a subcontinent. Many subcontinents are separated from the rest of a continent by geographical features. One of the most well-known subcontinents is the Indian subcontinent, which was once the country of India, but today includes Pakistan and Bangladesh.

What is a subcontinent Class 9?

A place is classed as a subcontinent when it is part of a continent but is considered either geographically or politically as an independent entity or it is smaller than a continent. India is often called a subcontinent because it is a distinct landmass, not just a country.

IT\'S FUN:  Is Winsor and Newton Indian ink waterproof?

What are the 7 physical features of India?

Physical Divisions of India

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The Indian Desert.
  • The Coastal Plains.
  • The Islands.

What are the 6 relief features of India?

What are the 6 major relief features of India? Explain.

  • the himalayas.
  • the indo – gangetic plain.
  • the peninsular plateau.
  • the costal plains.
  • the desert(thar)
  • the island.

What are the characteristics of a subcontinent?

a large, relatively self-contained landmass forming a subdivision of a continent: the subcontinent of India. a large landmass, as Greenland, that is smaller than any of the usually recognized continents.

How many subcontinent are there?

The Indian subcontinent consists of 7 countries– India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, and the Maldives. But what if the entire Indian subcontinent was to be contained within a single political boundary?

Why India is called a subcontinent?

– India is sometimes referred to as a subcontinent because it is a separate landmass, not just a country. It is not as large as one, but it has certain characteristics of a continent, so it is not considered a continent. – India was once a continent (or a very big island at least).

What is difference between subcontinent and continent?

The term ‘subcontinent’ is defined as a large landmass, which is part of a continent but is considered as an independent entity geographically or politically.

Continent Subcontinent
Separation They separated by oceans from other continents. They are separated by a physical feature from its continent.

What are the 7 continents of India?

The names of the seven continents of the world are: Asia, Africa, Europe, Australia, North America, South America, and Antarctica.

IT\'S FUN:  Frequent question: Is France better than India?

Why is South Asia called a subcontinent Class 6?

Answer: South Asia is called a subcontinent because, although it is smaller than a continent, it is very large and is separated from the rest of Asia by seas, hills and mountains.

About India