What were the administrative units of India before independence?

What was the administrative unit of India before independence?

The administrative units of the British territories in India were called ‘Presidencies’. There were three such Presidencies – Bengal, Madras and Bombay.

How many administrative divisions are there in India?

Currently, superdistrict administrative divisions exist in 18 of the 28 states.


State/Union Territory Himachal Pradesh
Division Shimla
Headquarter District Shimla
Districts Kinnaur, Shimla, Sirmaur and Solan

Which of these administrative divisions is India divided into?

India is a large country comprising of 28 states and 7 union territories. These states and the union territories are divided into districts. At the time of Census 2001 there were in all 593 districts against 467 districts at the time of 1991 Census.

What were the two divisions of British India?

“Partition” – the division of British India into the two separate states of India and Pakistan on August 14-15, 1947 – was the “last-minute” mechanism by which the British were able to secure agreement over how independence would take place.

IT\'S FUN:  Is India largest producer and exporter of tea?

Which was the most important administrative unit of British India?


  • Answer:
  • Districts of British India was the most important administrative unit in British India.
  • Explanation:
  • For example- Coimbatore, Malabar, Anantpur etc.. Districts came under Madras Presidency, Naga hill, Purnea and Champaran etc. Districts came under Bengal Presidency and Delhi, Garhwal and Kumaon etc.

What is the smallest administrative unit in India?

Gram Panchayat found in Villages and rural areas are the smallest administrative units where decisions are taken collectively.

What is the name of 29th state of India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 as ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

Which is the national capital of India?

Is there 28 states in India?

According to the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, the appointed day for the two Union Territories J&K and Ladakh was October 31. The total number of states in the country will now be 28, with effect from 26th January 2020, India has 8 union territories. …

How many states are there in India after 370?

28 States and 9 Union Territories of India After Removing Article 370.

What are 29 states?

There are 29 states and seven Union territories in the country. Let’s take a look at the states and their capitals.

  • Andhra Pradesh – Amravati. Amravati city plan. ( …
  • Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar. …
  • Assam – Dispur. …
  • Bihar – Patna. …
  • Chhattisgarh – Atal Nagar (Naya Raipur) …
  • Goa – Panaji. …
  • Gujarat – Gandhinagar. …
  • Haryana – Chandigarh.

Who ruled India before British?

The Mughals ruled over a population in India that was two-thirds Hindu, and the earlier spiritual teachings of the Vedic tradition remained influential in Indian values and philosophy. The early Mughal empire was a tolerant place. Unlike the preceding civilisations, the Mughals controlled a vast area of India.

IT\'S FUN:  Quick Answer: What was the impact of Western education on the Indians?

Which were the two main division of the British?

Which were the two main divisions of the British administrative period of dependent India? Answer: The first is from the downfall of the Mughal empire to the Sepoy Mutiny of 1857 and the second is from 1858 to 1947.

About India