Which are the administrative divisions of India explain?

How many administrative divisions are there in India?

Currently, superdistrict administrative divisions exist in 18 of the 28 states.


State/Union Territory Himachal Pradesh
Division Shimla
Headquarter District Shimla
Districts Kinnaur, Shimla, Sirmaur and Solan

Which of these administrative divisions is India divided into?

India is a large country comprising of 28 states and 7 union territories. These states and the union territories are divided into districts. At the time of Census 2001 there were in all 593 districts against 467 districts at the time of 1991 Census.

How many administrative divisions are there in our state?


Karnataka State has been divided into four Revenue divisions, 49 sub-divisions, 27 districts, 175 taluks and 745 hoblies/Revenue Circles for administrative purposes.

What are the political and administrative divisions of India?

India has 28 states and 7 union territories. The division of these states and union territories is based mainly on the respective languages spoken in these areas. Each state and union territory has a separate government to take care of its administrative needs. …

IT\'S FUN:  Quick Answer: Is speedball india ink archival?

What is the smallest administrative unit in India?

Gram Panchayat found in Villages and rural areas are the smallest administrative units where decisions are taken collectively.

What is the name of 29th state of India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 as ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

How a district is divided in India?

A district is composed of four or five revenue divisions administered by R.D.O. /sub collector, Revenue Divisions divided into taluks/mandals headed by tahsildars, Mandals composed of a ten or more villages administered by village revenue officers and village servants.

Is there 28 states in India?

India, a union of states, is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government. … There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country.

What is block in a district?

Block is a district sub-division for the purpose of rural development department and Panchayati Raj institutes. … Tehsils (also called Taluks) are common across urban and rural areas for the administration of land and revenue department to keep tract of land ownership and levy the land tax.

Which country has most states?

Originally Answered: Which country has the highest number of states? Russia. Russia has 46 oblasts, 21 republics (22, if including Crimea), 9 krais, 4 autonomous okrugs, 2 federal cities (3 if including Sevastopol), and 1 autonomous oblast, for a total of 83 (or 85) subdivisions.

What are the main function of the district administration?

The DC has three major functions namely revenue, magisterial and developmental. Apart from these major functions, a large number of miscellaneous functions are also entrusted to him by State and Central governments like conduct of elections, dealing with calamities, supervising local government institutions, etc.

IT\'S FUN:  You asked: Can Indian marry a Turkish girl?

What are the administrative divisions of our country?

India is a union of States and Union Territories for the purposes of administration, India is divided into 29 States (Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Goa, Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, …

What are the political divisions of world?

Political Divisions

  • States (US, Mexico, Brazil, Australia, Malaysia, Germany, Austria)
  • Commonwealths (Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Kentucky in the US)
  • Provinces (Canada, Iraq, Afghanistan, Argentina, China, South Africa)

What is difference between district and division?

As nouns the difference between division and district

is that division is (uncountable) the act or process of dividing anything while district is an administrative division of an area.

About India