Your question: What is the 28th state of India?

How many 28 states are there in India?

With the merger of Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the number of UT’s have come down to eight.

India now has 28 states and 8 UTs.

S.NO 2
State Arunachal Pradesh
Capital Itanagar
CM Pema Khandu
Governor B. D. Mishra

What are the names of 28 states?

Here is the list of 28 States in India and Their Capitals

  • Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad) …
  • Arunachal Pradesh (Itanagar) …
  • Assam (Dispur) …
  • Bihar (Patna) …
  • Chhattisgarh (Raipur) …
  • Gujarat (Gandhinagar) …
  • Haryana – Chandigarh (Shared with Punjab) …
  • Himachal Pradesh (Shimla)

How many states are there in India 28 or 29?

There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her.

Who is India’s first state?

Thus,Andhra became the first state in India in 1953 with Kurnool as its capital.

Which is oldest state in India?

UP, Bihar have India’s youngest populations; Kerala, Tamil Nadu are the oldest.

IT\'S FUN:  Best answer: Does India accept visas?

What are the name of 9 Union territories?

Union Territories are: Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, National Capital Territory of Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep, Ladakh and Puducherry.

How many states are there in India after 370?

28 States and 9 Union Territories of India After Removing Article 370.

What is our state name?


State name (# on map) Name in state’s official language Meaning
Haryana (8) हरियाणा (Hindi) Abode of God or Green Forest
Himachal Pradesh (9) हिमाचल प्रदेश (Hindi) Land of the snow-clad mountains
Jharkhand (10) झारखण्ड (‌Hindi) Forest Land
Karnataka (11) ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ (Kannada) Lofty Land or Land of Kannadigas

What are the 29 states and its capital?

There are 29 states and seven Union territories in the country. Let’s take a look at the states and their capitals.

  • Andhra Pradesh – Amravati. Amravati city plan. ( …
  • Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar. …
  • Assam – Dispur. …
  • Bihar – Patna. …
  • Chhattisgarh – Atal Nagar (Naya Raipur) …
  • Goa – Panaji. …
  • Gujarat – Gandhinagar. …
  • Haryana – Chandigarh.

What are the 9 union territories of India and their capitals?

Table List of 9 Union Territories with their capitals, formation date and their population:

S.No. Union territories Capital
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvassa
4 Daman and Diu Daman

Which state is removed from India?

On 6 August 2019, the Government of India revoked the special status, or autonomy, granted under Article 370 of the Indian Constitution to Jammu and Kashmir—a region administered by India as a state which consists of the larger part of Kashmir which has been the subject of dispute among India, Pakistan, and China since …

IT\'S FUN:  Your question: How can I study outside India?
About India